Which international locations can nonetheless qualify for the 2025 World Cup?


France 2025 World Cup

It’s lower than a month because the 2021 World Cup completed, however qualifying for the following event in 2025 is nicely underway.

9 nations have already sealed their locations within the 16-team males’s event in France, together with the hosts, plus the eight quarter-finalists from the newest version.

Champions Australia and finalists Samoa are joined by semi-finalists England and New Zealand, in addition to Fiji, Lebanon, Tonga and Papua New Guinea.

There are seven locations nonetheless up for grabs, to be fought for by 20 remaining international locations.


  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Jamaica
  • United States

Two of the seven locations will go to groups from the Americas, with Brazil having gained by the latest South Americas Championship to achieve this decisive stage in opposition to the North American and Caribbean sides.

Jamaica made their World Cup debut this 12 months, whereas USA have beforehand featured in two World Cups – in 2013 and 2017.


  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Eire
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Scotland
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Ukraine
  • Wales

There are solely two European nations confirmed for 2025 up to now, however there’s assured to be a minimum of one other 4.

That can be made up of the 2 highest ranked groups exterior of France and England from the 2023 European Championship, which can embody Eire, Italy, Scotland, Serbia, Spain and Wales.

The subsequent two positioned groups will then go in to an extra play-off, to be held in 2024, with the 2 group winners from European Championship B. That competitors can be held in 2023 in two teams – Greece, Norway and Ukraine in a single, and Czech Republic, Germany and Netherlands in one other.

Czech Republic and Netherlands have already knocked out Malta and Turkey to get to this stage.

There’s nonetheless an outdoor chance that Russia can be included on this course of. Their exercise is at the moment suspended because of the ongoing warfare in Ukraine, and the Worldwide Rugby League stated a call on their participation can be made by the tip of the 12 months.


  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

The 2023 Center East Africa Cup will function the above three sides plus Lebanon, who’ve already certified for the 2025 World Cup courtesy of their quarter-final look on this 12 months’s event.

The very best ranked aspect exterior of Lebanon will go on to play Prepare dinner Islands in an inter-regional repechage match in 2024.

Nigeria and Ghana earned their spot on the MEA Cup in 2023 by beating Kenya and Cameroon lately within the 2022 model.

MORE: Prepare dinner Islands be taught 2025 World Cup destiny as two Americas locations assured


As a result of success of their Pacific rivals, as talked about above, Prepare dinner Islands will as an alternative try and qualify by enjoying in an inter-regional repechage match in opposition to the winners of the African event.

First ever ladies’s qualifying competitors

For the primary time, the Girls’s World Cup will maintain a qualifying competitors because it grows to 16 groups for 2025.

The eight participation groups from the 2021 event robotically qualify – Australia, Brazil, Canada, Prepare dinner Islands, England, France, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.

There are 20 different international locations set to battle it out for the remaining eight spots.


With six berths for Asia-Pacific groups within the ladies’s event, these three will battle out in 2024 for 2 locations.


  • Greece
  • Eire
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Wales

There are 4 spots obtainable for European groups, with the above eight nations anticipated to play in two teams of 4 in 2023, with the 2 highest positioned finishers from every group qualifying for the 2025 World Cup.


There’s already assured to be two Americas groups within the Girls’s World Cup, due to Brazil and Canada; topic to them satisfying the suitable tips set by the Worldwide Rugby League.

One of many above three will be part of them.

Center East/Africa

  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Lebanon
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

This can be a ladies’s rugby league World Cup first in 2025, as a staff from the Center East or Africa will take part for the primary time.

Their qualifying event in 2024 will comprise of two teams of three, with the 2 winners then enjoying one another to earn the spot.

Wheelchair World Cup 2025 qualifying

For the Wheelchair World Cup in 2025, there can be an expression of curiosity and invitation course of to find out the 16 finalists.

They are going to be chosen by the tip of 2024.

READ NEXT: How England may line-up on the 2025 Rugby League World Cup


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *